Rhodes Scholarship

The Rhodes Scholarship is one of the oldest, most competitive, and prestigious scholarship awards. It funds two to three years of post-bachelor study at Oxford University in Great Britain. The award covers educational and living expenses. Initiated after the death of Cecil Rhodes in 1902, the scholarships bring outstanding students from nineteen countries and five continents to Oxford University. Thirty-two American Rhodes Scholars are selected each year. Rhodes Scholars may pursue either a second bachelor or graduate degree.

The Rhodes Scholarship involves a two-part application process with a campus deadline in August and a national deadline in early October. Official UCSC campus endorsement is required. The application process is lengthy and requires many months of preparation.

Eligibility Requirements for U.S. Applicants

Open to:  Graduating seniors; Graduate students; Recent graduates/Alumni

  • U.S. Citizenship or Permanent Residency (=Greeen Card) status in the U.S. is required. Permanent resident applicants must have held that status for at least five years prior to April 15 on the year of application. Certain non-citizens are also eligible to apply through their home country. Please see below.
  • DACA status applicants. DACA applicants will be requested to provide appropriate documentation regarding their status (an approved I-797 letter confirming DACA status and a U.S. Employment Authorization Card displaying valid dates)
  • Must have a minimum 3.7 GPA
  • Bachelor’s degree must be completed before October of the year applying
  • As of 2020, upon entry to Oxford, the candidate must either be under 25 years of age or up to a maximum age of 28 years old if you have completed your undergraduate degree within the last two years.
  • As of 2020, previous applicants who are still eligible may only re-apply once

If you are  not a citizen of the U.S , please note* In addition to the 32 awards offered each year to U.S. citizens and permanent residents, 100 Rhodes Scholarships are available to citizens of the following countries: Australia, Bermuda, Canada, China, East Africa (including Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan and Burundi), Germany, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Jamaica and the Commonwealth Caribbean (includes Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, St. Kitts-Nevis, Montserrat, Anguilla, the Turks and Caicos Islands, Cayman Islands and British Virgin Islands), Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Singapore, Southern Africa (including South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, and Swaziland), Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, United Arab Emirates, West Africa (Including Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the island of Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Principe and Togo), Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Please visit the U.S. Guidance for Applicants webpage on the Rhodes website to determine the application requirements and deadlines.

Rhodes Application Instructions

For more information about the Rhodes scholarship and Oxford University, please visit the following sites:

Diversity and Inclusion Statement: The Rhodes Trust warmly welcomes applications from talented young persons of diverse backgrounds. Selection of Rhodes Scholars is made without regard to gender, gender identity, marital status, sexual orientation, race, ethnic origin, religion, social background, caste, or disability.

Please contact Gabi Schmiegel to make an advising appointment (Rhodes applicants) or for more details on the UC Santa Cruz application process.

Last modified: Jun 12, 2023