Fulbright Program

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. Government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA). Participating governments, host institutions, corporations, and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. The Program operates in over 160 countries worldwide under policy guidelines established by the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board and in cooperation with bi-national Fulbright Commissions and U.S. Embassies abroad.

Of the 325,000+ Fulbright alumni, 86 have received a Pulitzer Prize, 75 have been MacArthur Fellows, 60 have won a Nobel Prize, 37 have served as heads of state or governments, 10 were elected to US Congress, and 1 has served as UN Secretary-General. 

The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs strives to ensure that the Fulbright Program reflects the diversity of U.S. society and societies abroad. Opportunities are open to people regardless of their race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, geographic location, socio-economic status, disability, sexual orientation, or gender identity.

Campus Requirements

For more information about Fulbright, please visit the U.S. Student Fulbright Program website.

Fulbright Application Instructions

Please contact Gabi Schmiegel for more details on the UC Santa Cruz application process.

Last modified: Jun 12, 2023