Students sit in front of student art in College 9 and 10

The Residential College System

UC Santa Cruz is home to 10 distinctive residential colleges:

  • Cowell College
  • Stevenson College
  • Crown College
  • Merrill College
  • Porter College
  • Kresge College
  • Oakes College
  • Rachel Carson College
  • College Nine
  • College Ten

These residential settings provide the academically and socially supportive environments to help new students transition to campus life and get the most out of their Santa Cruz experience.

Choosing Your College Affiliation

All undergraduate exchange and visiting students, whether they ultimately choose to live on or off-campus, have the opportunity to affiliate with one of the 10 residential colleges at UC Santa Cruz. During the application process, you will be asked to indicate several of your top preferences for affiliation. Learn more about the college options at housing.ucsc.edu/colleges.



Exchange/Visiting students can apply to live in on-campus housing and there are a variety of housing options to choose from. Learn more at housing.ucsc.edu.

Note: not all room and accommodation style options are available each year, and space availability varies by quarter.


If you choose to find accommodation off-campus, the UC Santa Cruz Office of Community Rentals can provide resources and information to support you in this process. Learn more at communityrentals.ucsc.edu